Press Releases


TIA Announces Policy Day at Annual Conference

FCC Commissioners Clyburn and O’Rielly, DoD and State Department Officials and Others will Discuss Pressing Tech and Telecom Policy Issues

Net Neutrality, IP Transition, and Spectrum will be Among the Issues Discussed on June 4th in Dallas, TX; Special Session on Cuba Also Announced

Arlington, Va. (April 30, 2015) – On Thursday, June 4th, the Telecommunications Industry Association (TIA), the leading association representing the manufacturers and suppliers of high-tech communications networks, will host a special Policy Day as part of its annual Network of the Future Conference, taking place June 2-4 in Dallas, Texas.

Headlining the day’s keynotes and panel discussions will be FCC Commissioners Mignon Clyburn and Michael O’Rielly; Department of State’s Senior Counselor for International Communications and Information Policy Timothy C. Finton; Department of Defense’s Director of Spectrum Policy and Program Frederick D. Moorefield, Jr.; and executives from Verizon and AT&T.

Members of the media interested in a free registration or in receiving more information should contact Farrah Kim at or 202.568.8986.

During the day-long event, speakers will address the impact of net neutrality, progress towards a Telecom Act update, plans for handling the demand for more spectrum and the progress of the IP transition. Policy Day will include presentations and interactive discussions with influential policymakers, regulators, scholars, and industry executives.

The day will also include a special program on the technology business opportunities in Cuba, with participants from Columbia University, the Department of State and Nearshores America.

TIA 2015 Policy Day includes the following events:

  • Policy Breakfast Panel on Tech Eyes on Cuba: Dr. Margaret Crahan, Columbia University; Timothy C. Finton, Department of State; and Kirk Laughlin, Nearshore Americas
  • Keynote on Auctions, Rewrites and IP Transition: Commissioner Mignon Clyburn, FCC
  • Keynote on The Spectrum Limits for Unlimited Demand: Frederick D. Moorefield, Jr., Department of Defense
  • Keynote: Commissioner Michael O’Rielly, FCC
  • Keynote Panel on Net Neutrality - Impacts and Strategy: Kathleen Grillo, Verizon and Robert Quinn, AT&T
  • CTO Roundtable Luncheon: Kevin Schneider, ADTRAN; Jai Menon, Dell; Rod Naphan, Fujitsu; and Amador Lucero, XO Communications

Find a complete schedule of keynotes and special events at this link.

Sponsors of TIA 2015: The Network of the Future include Host Sponsor, Ericsson, as well as ACS Solutions, Actility, ADTRAN, Affirmed Networks, AT&T, Cisco, Corning, Dell, Fujitsu, GENBAND, Henkels & McCoy, Huawei, iconectiv, ILS/Telit, InterDigital, Juniper Networks, Korean Electronics Technology Institute, Microsoft, Motorola Solutions, Nokia, OpenTechWorks, Panasonic, Power & Telephone Supply, Qualcomm, Red Hat, Sierra Wireless, SpiderCloud Wireless, Sumitomo Electric Lightwave, Tarana Wireless, and Walker and Associates.

In addition, AT&T, the Texas State Wireless Association and the Women’s Wireless Leadership Forum are holding meetings in conjunction with TIA 2015.

Follow TIA on Facebook, LinkedIn, Twitter, YouTube, TIA NOW and Google+ for latest updates.

About TIA

The Telecommunications Industry Association (TIA) represents manufacturers and suppliers of global communications networks through standards development, policy and advocacy, business opportunities, market intelligence, and events and networking. TIA enhances the business environment for broadband, mobile wireless, information technology, networks, cable, satellite and unified communications. Members' products and services empower communications in every industry and market, including healthcare, education, security, public safety, transportation, government, the military, the environment, and entertainment. Visit for more details.

TIA is accredited by the American National Standards Institute (ANSI), and is a proud sponsor of ANSI’s Standards Boost Business campaign. Visit  for details.