Fuel Cell Focus Group

Telecommunications Industry Association’s (TIA) Fuel Cell Focus Group on Fuel Cell provides a forum for fuel cell companies, mobile network operators, cell site leasing companies, engineering firms, government entities, and others to develop documents that can provide the ICT industry as a whole with a guide to the technical considerations and benefits of fuel cell deployment in support of wireless and other ICT infrastructure.

The Focus Group recognizes that there are numerous standards for hydrogen fuel cell safety, which are written for generic use that range from automotive refueling stations to main alternative fuel supplies. The scope of this Focus Group is to develop a comprehensive understanding of the fuel cell codes for both stationary and mobile fuel cells for specific use with telecom, wireless, datacom, emergency 911, police radio, security and surveillance, and catastrophic infrastructure for commercial, military, or residential use at ground level, on rooftop, or on platforms applications for backup, supplemental and/or alternative electric power sources as well as associated fuel storage requirements.

Current participants include:

  • Air Liquide Industrial
  • Air Products and Chemicals, Inc.
  • Altergy Systems
  • Ballard Power Systems
  • Bloom Energy
  • BlueComp
  • Burns & McDonnell
  • CommScope
  • Fuel Cell and Hydrogen Energy Association
  • Hy9
  • IGX Group
  • Microsoft Research
  • National Renewable Energy Laboratory (NREL)
  • ReliOn, Inc.
  • Serenergy A/S
  • Sprint
  • Trulite Tech
  • VP Energy

The Focus Group has completed its Reference Guide, "Guide for Fuel Cell Installations for Wireless and Information and Communications Technology (ICT) Infrastructure." The FCFG will continue its efforts to build a second document which is intended to be a user’s guide for deployment of stationary fuel cells and will be focused more on guidance for operating stationary fuel cells. Individuals and organizations interested in participating in the Focus Group should contact standards@tiaonline.org

Committee Leadership

Chair National Renewable Energy Laboratory Carl Rivkin
Vice Chair Fuel Cell and Hydrogen Energy Association Karen Hall

TIA Contact Info

Committee Support Standards Secretariat

Related Links